Skip to main content
All Team Members

Scott Ashby


“Antimicrobials – such as antibiotics, antifungals and antiviral medicines – are essential for preventing and treating infection and disease, but their overuse can be incredibly detrimental. By connecting researchers with industry we can successfully tackle this emerging global issue.”


Scott Ashby is a Director of SAAFE CRC, the Murray-Darling Basin Authority’s Executive Director of Basin Science and Knowledge, and an experienced senior executive. He brings more than 20 years of senior government experience to our board, spanning primary industries, biosecurity, animal and plant health, natural resources, and water management.

Scott is well-versed in the threat posed by antimicrobial resistance (AMR), having previously served as the Chief Executive at both the Department of Primary Industries and Regions (PIRSA) for seven years and the Department for Water, Land and Biodiversity Conservation (DWLBC) among a myriad of other government leadership positions.

His time at PIRSA brought him face-to-face with the issues associated with AMR, embedding his deep belief that it’s a major challenge facing our agribusiness and food sectors.

Informed by unique perspectives from his time leading applied science programs and collaboratively across sectors, Scott is a firm believer that connecting researchers with industry is key to successfully disrupting the threat posed by AMR.

Chair of our Audit, Finance and Risk Committee, Scott brings extensive experience in project management, governance, budget and financial management, risk and cyber security from his previous position as Chair of the Audit and Risk Committee for the South Australian Forestry Corporation.

Scott’s other notable high-profile positions include, Chief Executive Officer of the City of Onkaparinga Council (2020-2022), Chief Executive of the South Australian Department for Water (2010-2012), and Deputy Chief Executive of the South Australian Department of the Premier and Cabinet (2006-2008).